Despite broad backing by EU leaders for Von der Leyen’s nomination, getting European Parliament’s nod is trickier

BRUSSELS: European Union leaders have agreed to nominate German Ursula von der Leyen for a second five-year term as president of the European Commission, the EU’s powerful executive body. At the summit in Brussels, the bloc’s 27 national leaders chose former Portuguese Prime Minister Antonio Costa as the future president of the European Council and Estonian Prime Minister Kaja Kallas as the next EU foreign policy leader.

Leave a Comment